Front Page News

I stayed up late last night and looked at the Daily Emerald website (UO’s Campus Newspaper) to see if my photos were posted yet.

However, I didn’t expect to get on the front page.

It’s a small paper, but hey, that’s still useful for my resume.

I sent in 7 photos, two got in (because of space issues).

I’m really happy with the outcome, and I hope the Drag Troupe loves the photos as well 🙂

Fabulanzaa Woo St James, 30, from Salem, Oregon, performs under the lights of the LLC Performance Hall Friday night.

Fabulanzaa Woo St James, 30, from Salem, Oregon, performs under the lights of the LLC Performance Hall Friday night.

This is the large one that is on the front page. I like it a lot because of the light in the top left. Hopefully that made it pop.

I was having a lot of problems with lighting that night. The ceiling (as you can kinda see) is low, so it’s not about distance to bounce the flash, but the ceiling is a dark aluminum I think…so not a very good reflective surface.

I used straight-on flash, with a diffuser. I also got a flash sync cord so I can get different flash angles, but that was too difficult, and didn’t produce good shots. I’ll use the cord on street or portraits probably.

Ruby Woo, 25, from Salem, Oregon performs her second drag queen routine for the night.

Ruby Woo, 25, from Salem, Oregon performs her second drag queen routine for the night.

This wasn’t published….a little too “Not safe for work” probably. I like the lighting on it though.

It was a fun shoot. Just wished I could get the flash right.

It was either blurry or blown out. Only a few shots came out.

Diva Simone Slaughter, 39, from Eugene, Oregon, performs her final routine of the night. Diva Simone was the MC for the event as well.

Diva Simone Slaughter, 39, from Eugene, Oregon, performs her final routine of the night. Diva Simone was the MC for the event as well.

The second of 2 images published on the front page and the website of the Emerald.

Probably one of my favorites. Also on deviantART:

here

 

I’m hoping to get a few more shoots lined up. Just don’t know what to shoot.

The “Tim & Eric Awesome Show; Good Job!” is coming to Eugene soon…with other celebs I hear.

I might try to get some shots there.

Being a paparazzi is bittersweet. It sucks but it’s a job either way.

Let’s just hope portrait sessions and shoots like the drag show outweigh pap shots.

2 Responses to “Front Page News”


  1. 1 Brian Q. Webb 13/01/2009 at 6:18 PM

    First, you jump to the left…

    and then you step to the riiiiiiight!

    Put your hands on your hips…

    and bring your knees in tiiiight!

    (sorry…rocky horror reference)

    Congrats! I really love the 2nd photo.


Leave a Reply

Tom Walsh

is a photographer in Eugene, OR. Mainly focusing on street photography and social documentary. He shoots bands and portraits as well. Tom goes to the University of Oregon where he intends to graduate with a Bachelors of Fine Arts in Photography.
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

